Recipe: English Toffee

toffee-copy.jpg

I made English Toffee last night and they turned out alright.  I was inspired by Paula Deen’s Recipe for Old Fashioned English Toffee.  I didn’t use butter, instead I used margarine.  Let me tell you… it’s not the same!  But still, I did manage to eat half of it in a span of an hour.  I think I’ll make toffee for people this Christmas.  Nothing says, “I’m cheap and broke” like homemade Christmas Gifts.  I’ll even find my stash of recycled Christmas bows and pin them to the plastic wrap.  I’m so clever.  Who needs the stress of Christmas shopping when you have access to the Food Network via the World Wide Web? 

English Toffee – Paula Deen

14 tablespoons (1 stick, plus 6 tablespoons) butter
1 cup sugar
2 tablespoons cold water
1/2 chopped pecans
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
Dash salt
1 (6-ounce) bag semisweet chocolate chips or thin chocolate bars
Generously butter a cookie sheet. Put butter, sugar, and water in a heavy pan or skillet over medium-high heat. Bring to a bubbling boil, stirring constantly with a wooden spoon, about 10 minutes. Remove spoon from pan, and cook to a very brittle stage (300 degrees to 310 degrees F on a candy thermometer). Or, make a cold water test: candy will separate into hard, brittle threads when dropped in cold water. Remove from heat and add nuts to mixture. Add vanilla and salt. Pour onto prepared cookie sheet and spread to 1/4-inch thickness. Cool slightly, top with chocolate chips or chocolate bars, and spread as it melts. Cool completely and break into pieces. Store in an airtight container.

2 thoughts on “Recipe: English Toffee

  1. louann thomason says:

    My grandmother pasted away in 1972 and i needed her recipe for toffee well I have tried a lot trying to find just one and here it is. I am a big fan of your show and gave your cook book to all the females in my family for Christmas and that’s a whole bunch thanks and may God Bless. LouAnn

Leave a Reply

