Recipe: Halo Halo (A Cold Filipino Dessert)

halohalodessert.jpg

My recent trip to the Philippines had me craving Halo-halo on a daily basis.  And, not just Halo-halo, but halo-halo from Chow king, a Chinese food chain in the Philippines.  Halo-halo is a combination of jellies, beans, crushed ice then topped with milk and a huge scoop of ube ice cream.  For a Filipino the words alone could have you salivating for a bowl.  But, for a non-filipino the ingredients must sound a bit gross.  Please believe me when I say this dessert is SOOO addictive!!!  I suggest that anyone who is reading this go out to the closet Filipino restaurant or even a simple trip to a Filipino food store and purchase the ingredients below.  I will be your new best friend! 

Halo-Halo Dessert 

  • 2 tablespoons kaong or
    2 tablespoons langka (jackfruit)
  • 2 tablespoons macapuno (a variety of coconut meat sold in bottles)
  • 2 tablespoons sweetened kidney beans
  • 2 tablespoons sweetened garbanzos
  • 2 tablespoons sweetened ripe plantains
  • 2 tablespoons ube or yam
  • 2 tablespoons custard or crème caramel (leche flan)
  • crushed ice  to fill glass
  • 2/3 evaporated milk
  • a scoop of magnolia ube macapuno ice cream on top

 Directions:  Put everything in a bowl.  Followed by shaved ice, evaporated milk and scoop of ice cream.  Others chose to top the dessert with just ice, milk and sugar.

14 thoughts on “Recipe: Halo Halo (A Cold Filipino Dessert)

  1. Robin says:

    I am not Filipino, but love Filipino food…especially the Spam recipes! This dessert is incredible; and yes, I am ADDICTED to it. Thanks a lot, now I’ll get FAT!! Ha-Ha.

  2. Kristi says:

    I have been visiting for a month in Guam and have become addicted and you are right – when I first saw it, I was thinking that it was not going to be good but oh my goodness!!!! Can’t get enough and bringing home ube and macapuno!!!

  3. Reece says:

    Just read the top story I know this thread us old but!!! Chow king rocks I had a twice daily addiction to halo halo no one understands!!

Leave a Reply

