Dr. Oz’s Green Drink (featured on Oprah)

drozgreendrinkoprah.jpgdrozgreendrinkoprah.jpg 

Dr. Oz’s Green Drink

* 2 cups spinach
* 2 cups cucumber
* 1 head of celery
* 1/2 inch or teaspoon ginger root
* 1 bunch parsley
* 2 apples
* Juice of 1 lime
* Juice of 1/2 lemon
makes 3-4 servingsAfter everything is combined in a blender, this recipe makes 28 to 30 ounces—about three to four servings. Oprah takes a sip and is pleasantly surprised. “It’s a glass of fresh,” she says.

My thoughts on this drink?  It tasted like a lemony cold  soup.  I’ve never had a smoothy made of vegetables so it took me a while long, long, long time to finish!  Regardless of the taste it did make me feel energized for the rest of the day… not sure if I’ll make it again. 

13 thoughts on “Dr. Oz’s Green Drink (featured on Oprah)

  1. Tricia H says:

    I drink it every morning. I think it has strengthened my immune system. I have been around a lot of sick people and haven’t gotten sick this season. It also gives me energy.

  2. Bernadine Grant says:

    I tried this (so far minus the ginger and lemon) and it was great. I loved it. It is very “fresh” and is a great way for me to increase my vegtable intake — a new goal for me. I am a Canadian living in South Korea where its common to find pickled vegtables. I am in need of “fresh”, and there are a lot of vegtables in this country that are so new to me. At least with this drink, I can access the vegtables and make this drink! My roommate made it for me and suggested it … good choice.

  3. SHADOWCAT says:

    I just made this drink & it’s absolutely yummy. I used a blender which works great but you do need one that has some higher speeds so the veggies pulverize as much as possible. but my personal take on juicers is that you throw more of the fruits and veggies out. using a blender you pretty much use everything and that’s good for you!:
    cukes
    celery
    spinach
    apples
    lemon
    unfiltered organic apple juice
    buy organic or local if possible. wash & cut up in chunks & put in baggies or tupperware type containers for easy use. (except the apples, cut those right before use)
    toss in handfuls of spinach, cukes, celery and 1/2 – 1 apple. squeeze 1/2 lemon on top. add some apple juice – start with 1 1/2 cups. blend on medium and increase to high. add water or more apple juice as needed to make the drink a nice consistency. it should be somewhat pulpy but not thick like a shake. i think using some apple juice is the key because this was just great. it will be a bit foamy and pulpy and all of that is totally awesome for you. you’ll notice i didn’t use the ginger or parsley. i forgot to buy the ginger but i probably would try that. i purposely didn’t get the parsley but would try some next time but use less then the recipe above. the parsley is what will make is bitter so if you want to use it. i’d add all the other ingredients first, then add small amts of the parsley to taste so you don’t overdue it.
    some different takes on this:
    add carrots
    or pineapples
    yogurt
    an awesome carrot drink in the blender uses carrots, apples, pineapples, some orange juice and vanilla yogurt. totally yummy.
    use your imagination! have a bunch of veggies all washed and cut up and just toss in the blender at will.
    best of all it’s fresh and if you bought a glass of this stuff at a health restaurant you’d pay at least $4 for a small glass.

  4. denise wise says:

    going to give this a try,,had 2 operations within 8mos, apart and my immune system is shot,,I’m sure this will help me out alot,,thanks Dr. Oz an I’m thinking of doing the 11 weeks diet

  5. annonces-occasion.fr says:

    Wonderful article! This is the kind of info that are supposed to
    be shared around the internet. Disgrace on Google for now
    not positioning this publish upper! Come on over
    and discuss with my site . Thank you =)

  6. sportsbiztech.wordpress.com says:

    I absolutely love your blog and find many of your post’s to be exactly what I’m looking for.
    Does one offer guest writers to write content in your case?
    I wouldn’t mind producing a post or elaborating on a few of the subjects you write regarding here. Again, awesome blog!

Leave a Reply

