Oprah, The Secret, A New Earth- do you believe?

30somethingmom The Secret Oprah

At first I was a bit skeptical when Oprah introduced The Secret to her viewers last year.  I thought I’d give it a try.  I did a couple of affirmations.  One of “my thoughts” was to visualize $2000 in my bank account by the end of the month.  And, would you believe that I received a cheque for $1800 from my previous job?  I never took a vacation from the job at the hospital so they paid that out to me!!! Now, is that a coincidence or was it “The Secret”.  Because, with the $200 I already had in my chequings account, the $1800 made an even $2000!!! Crazy.  I did do a vision board that consisted of a couple vacations, my dream house and certain obstacles that I’ve always wanted to accomplish.  Now, if those things come true… then I am a 100% believer of the Secret. 

Oprah just recently introduced her online classroom based on the book A new Earth.  I signed up for it.  So, we’ll see how that goes.  I just wanted to know if any of you have any experience with positive thinking and affirmations etc.

9 thoughts on “Oprah, The Secret, A New Earth- do you believe?

  1. John Curtis says:

    The Secret is the latest and by far the worst example of a HIGHLY profitable trend where self-help gurus with fabricated new age titles and little relevant education, credentials or legitimate expertise brainwash us into believing that they know what is best for us, our marriages and our families.

    Often their only contribution to society is introducing some exotic sounding, new age philosophy. However, they often cleverly form an incestuous group of like-minded “experts” who cross-promote each other by swearing their success is due to following the beliefs of another member of their “cult!” All the while, they ply the airwaves jockeying for an ever-larger audience by appearing in the national media to garner third-party endorsements.

    The Self-Help Movement has become the Self-Destruct Movement by diminishing or destroying our critical thinking skills to choose and evolve on our own. We have given up the freedom to build healthy lives, marriages and families based on our unique history and life experience. Instead many victims, blinded to the value of their own life experiences, are attracted to the latest secret in self-help, in an attempt to find out what they should think, feel and how they should act… this is the definition of a cult.

    The solution is a return to our (common) senses! The best way out of this learned “self-helplessness” is to go cold turkey. Stop following ALL self-help gurus now. Begin, instead, to reclaim your natural, God-given ability to think for yourself. The common sense that was once readily available to all of us is still there free of charge and waiting to be applied to just about any challenge we might face in life… all you have to do is use it.

    Please, let’s all work together to stop the flock of “sheepeople” who blindly move from one UNPROVEN concept to the next, looking for the answers to life’s challenges that you already possess and that is the OBVIOUS!

  2. ChiChi says:

    My brother has the same view as you. He went off on a big shpeel about how it’s common sense and that most of the Secret’s theory is based on Taoism. Thanks for the comment. I’d love to hear more input. Anyone with a pro-Secret story?

  3. Phillywriter says:

    I find Oprah an inspirational but sometimes I find her a little much. I make the joke that with all the answers to the world’s problems Oprah is secretly God. But since my mother died I’ve been feeling lower than I ever have. Nothing in my life makes sense. Then one day my co-worker was all giddy about this book and I figured I’ve tried everything else and getting out of bed is still takes too much effort. I decided to take the book’s “journey” and even blog about it (mynewearth.blogspot.com) to hold myself accountable. Oprah, I hope you know what you’re talking about.

  4. Jason Clegg says:

    Is that a John Curtis comment up there? Interesting… Looks like this guy has a penchant for surfing the web and then posting a generic comment on blog sites that make mention of “The Secret.” I’m not so sure how I feel about that….

  5. Dom Garcia says:

    I believe Earl Nightingale once wrote that “we are the sum total of all our thoughts, up to this point”.
    I think that our society has been so programmed to not think for itself that anytime something like the Secret comes out and then to gets shoved down the publics throat by the goddess of the airwaves that we as a society must think it gospel truth. Why of course if Oprah says it then it must be true. People get a life and learn to think for y0urself. I remember a time when working hard and having a passion and burning desire for something was all you needed to get you the things you wanted out of life. So please learn to think for yourself with your own god given ability and don’t let Oprah or anybody else do it for you. How do you think we got into this mortgage crisis. Somebody else was doing the thinking for you.

  6. Kyle says:

    The Opus was a great movie. I think it really went into great detail that the Secret did not. I think the compass may be interested as well. But the film I am most interested in is from the creator of The Opus, Douglas Vermeeren, The Gratitude Experiment. http://www.Gratitude-experiment.com From what I have read and heard I believe this will be an incredible movie that will really change the thinking of people everywhere. It claims that it will challenge religion, faith, science and mankinds understanding on so many levels. I bvelieve it will be even more impactful than A new Earth from Eckhart Tolle. Check out the trailer on youtube and experience what will be the boggest personal development shift in this decade.

  7. Candace says:

    I just saw the Opus and totally loved it. Better and more complete than The Secret. This si the movie that Oprah should be talking about.It is the first one with an really practical substance.

  8. Steven says:

    I was really disappointed that Oprah has not yet had The Opus on her show. It is a more practical and inspirational movie. Most people would enjoy it far more and have an easier time applying it to their lives. I also think it would make a more significant difference because the lessons contained are just better.

Leave a Reply

