Paula Deen’s Cheese Ball Recipe – featured on Oprah

This is a great recipe to take to a Christmas party.  And, all you’ll hear is, “Who made THIS!!!?”  I tried this recipe and it was a hit.   I actually just made it as a snack for my husband and I… we ate the whole thing *hides*  I reccomend eating the cheese ball with mini bagels.  Enjoy!

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 package (8 ounces) cream cheese, softened
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 2 cups shredded sharp cheddar cheese
  • 1/4 cup (1 ounce) blue cheese, crumbled
  • 1/4 cup finely minced green onions (white part only)
  • 1 jar diced pimento, drained
  • 3/4 cup Fisher pecans, divided (Of course, any nut will do!)
  • 10 slices of bacon, cooked, drained, finely crumbled and divided
  • Salt and pepper
  • 1/4 cup minced parsley
  • 1 Tbsp. poppy seeds


Place cream cheese in mixer bowl. Attach bowl and flat beater to mixer. Turn to Speed Two and mix 1 minute. Stop and scrape bowl. Turn to Speed Two and gradually add milk, mixing until well blended about 1 minute. Stop and scrape bowl. Add cheeses, onions, pimientos, half of the bacon and half the pecans. Turn to Speed 4 and beat until well blended, about another minute. Season with salt and pepper to taste.
Transfer mixture to a large piece of plastic wrap. Form into a ball and wrap tightly.
Repeat with the remaining mixture. Refrigerate (or freeze) at least 2 hours.Combine the remaining bacon and remaining pecans, parsley and poppy seeds in a pie plate. Then, remove the plastic wrap and roll the cheese ball lightly in the bacon/nut mixture until evenly coated. Wrap it back up in plastic wrap and refrigerate again until ready to use.


Thirty Something Mom – Vancouver Mommy Blog about Fashion & Food

12 thoughts on “Paula Deen’s Cheese Ball Recipe – featured on Oprah

  1. Teri says:

    Love the post. I am definitely going to try this cheeseball. I also wanted to thank you for listing my blog in your fashion section. That is kind of you. I will keep reading your blog. I really enjoy it. teri

  2. Jan Henderson says:

    I can’t wait to try the cheeseball recipe at our get together this Christmas. It looked really good on the show.

  3. theflyingchef says:

    I have been looking for a good cheeseball recipe. I made one a couple of years back and it was a hit. Wouldn’t have a clue what happened to the recipe. I will look forward to trying this one for Crimbo.
    Thanks for posting.

  4. Doug Ezell says:

    We are looking forward to trying this cheese ball! I have been making the same cheeseball for years and this year I wanted to find a new recipe to try and this one appears to be perfect! I love Paula!!!

  5. Linda Beran says:

    Anything Paula Deen prepares has got to be wonderful. She really puts the love into her cooking and I enjoy watching her do it. I am going to try one of these cheese balls this Christmas if I have the strength to do it. Will love to have any of her recipes for good ol’ southern cookin, nothing better in the world.

  6. Petunia53 says:

    I doubled the recipe last night (so I have one to serve on Christmas Day) and before I wrapped it up into a ball, my hubby and I just “HAD TO” taste it and it was AWESOME! I bet after the flavors have a chance to mingle overnight, it will taste even better! We’re going to a dinner party tonight and I can’t wait to hear the comments! I’ll let ya’ll know how it went! Btw, I just used a fork to mix this all up and it was easy; no need to mess with a mixer at all! Helpful tip: next time I will trim the fatty ends off of the bacon before frying and make sure to fry the bacon CRISP, so it is easy to crumble into smaller bits. The fatty parts just get in the way and you don’t want them mixed in with the other ingredients. I can’t wait to share this cheese ball at the dinner party as the appetizer tonight!

  7. Petunia53 says:

    As promised, I’m writing to let you all know if everyone liked the cheese ball or not at last night’s Christmas dinner party…they all LOVED IT! These friends are all awesome cooks and they told me it was the best cheese ball they’ve ever eaten…I agree! It’s not hard and super thick, like some cheese balls. I used a little less blue cheese than the recipe called for, but not a lot less. I just love the variety of flavors and the crunch from the nuts. I’ll never make a different cheese ball again. SO good!

Leave a Reply

